Why Does Google Kill Everything?

Joe Douglas
4 min readNov 21, 2020
Photo by Mitchell Luo on Unsplash

Recently Google announced that the free storage of high quality images in their Google Photos service is coming to an end. The free storage of “unlimited” photos has been going for five years, so as you can imaging this announcement has upset some people.

Personally, I’m not surprised by this move. I am surprised that it took five years to get here. Storage isn’t cheap so it’s pretty cool that it’s been as long as it has. Rather, what has me concerned is the fact that this change once again reminds me that Google has a very long history of just killing off apps.

Most recently, the highest profile app they killed off was Google Play Music. While I didn’t subscribe to Play Music, the ability to upload all my personal music to the cloud and then stream it (or, more often, just download those albums I felt like listening to) via my phone was brilliant. While it had its shortcomings, it was pretty easy to use and it did exactly what I wanted it to; gave me easy access to my music.

When the migration to YouTube Music happened, I tried it out.

It’s horrible!

All the music playlists I’d made were mixed in with YouTube playlists. It took me ages to find the music I wanted as I’d have to wade through a sea of YouTube suggestions. No, YouTube, I do…

--

--

Joe Douglas

Collector. Writer. Artist. Geek. I write mostly about the hobby of collecting. Check out my full portfolio at JMDWorks.org.